Saanane Island National Park


Saanane Island National Park, which has three islets and an aquatic environment, has been a fully functional national park since July 2013 and covers an area of 2.18 sq km. The islets are located on the main Island’s southern coast.

The park set records for being the smallest national park in Tanzania and East Africa as well as the first national park to ever be situated inside a city. Mammals including Impala, Rock Hyrax, Velvet Monkeys, and Wild Cats reside in the Park. The fact that there are “De-brazas Monkeys” indicates that this park has the potential to be the only one in the nation to contain the species. Crocodiles, Monitor and Agama lizards, Pancake and Leopard Tortoises, and Snakes, particularly Pythons, are among the other prevalent reptiles. Numerous fish species, primarily tilapia, and Nile perch, live in the park’s aquatic areas.

The Island of Saa Nane has the name of Mzee Saanane Chawandi, a former fisherman who later became a farmer and relocated to another island (for which he was paid) in order to facilitate conservation efforts in the early 1960s. As the first government-owned zoo, Tanzania assumed ownership of the island in 1964. Its original territory, which included both dry land and water, was around 0.7 square kilometers. 

Saa Nane National Park, however, annexing and including two other smaller islets known as considering that Chankende Kubwa and Chandkende Ndogo are also situated in the southern region of the main island, the protected area now measures 1.32 square kilometers. 

The primary goals were to promote serious wildlife conservation education and to encourage enjoyment among the Mwanza population.

Rubondo National Park